Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 4th, 2009

A historic marker welcomes you to Lititz
A historic marker welcomes you to Lititz

Last week  we also went to my hometown, Lititiz, PA, founded in 1756 by the Moravian Church. It is a town rich with history and traditions. While there, we saw friends, family, and familiar sights. Many of my relatives still live in this charming town. Taking you on a short tour, walk down Main Street and hear bells chime songs on the hour. Pass many delightful shops filled with handcrafted goods and folk art. See many old buildings, including Farmers First Bank where I first worked in high school and college in the bookkeeping and proof departments. (No wonder I’m writing a math stations book!)

Smell chocolate in the air as you circle by the Wilbur Chocolate Factory. Stop and enjoy the fountain and fresh spring water at the Lititz Springs Park, where Tom’s family often picnicked when he was young. As a teen, I walked through that park every day on my way to 7th-12th grade. Go another block and you’ll see the house I grew up in. Many evenings were spent on the front porch enjoying conversation and a cool evening breeze.

If you ever come to Pennsylvania, plan to spend some time in Lititz. It’s the home of the first pretzel factory in the U.S. and the chocolate just can’t be beat. Hey, they even have a candy outlet store. What’s not to love about that?

Farmers National Bank

Farmers National Bank

 

Downtown Lititz lined with charming shops

Downtown Lititz lined with charming shops

 

Tom and my sister Sandy in front of the Wilbur Chocolate Factory

Tom and my sister Sandy in front of the Wilbur Chocolate Factory

Lititz Springs Park, a perfect picnic spot

Lititz Springs Park, a perfect picnic spot

My Mom on the front porch of the house where I grew up

My Mom on the front porch of the house where I grew up

With my friend Adessa and sister Sandy

With my friend Adessa and sister Sandy

Read Full Post »