Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 17th, 2009

My favorite author of all time, Pat Conroy has finally written a new book– his last novel came out 14 years ago! It just hit bookstore shelves recently and was well worth the wait. If you’re not familiar with Conroy, he’s also written some of my favorite books, including Beach Music and Prince of Tides In fact, I’ve read everything this man has ever written. He has the most amazing way with words.

I was especially excited to read this book, South of Broad because it is set in one of my favorite cities: Charleston, SC, a place of pure beauty and culinary delights. This summer Tom and I visited Charleston for the first time and were delighted with all we experienced there. Hidden gardens, fried oysters and other lowcountry delicacies, historic carriage rides around town, mystical graveyards, interesting antique shops, and interesting architecture abound. Check out Spoleto Festival in late May/early June and experience a wide variety of cultural events. Last year, I enjoyed the Alvin Ailey Dancers perform Revelations. Amazing performance! If you can’t get away to Charleston, pick up Pat Conroy’s new book and be transported.

What are you reading?

Historic home in Charleston, SC

Historic home in Charleston, SC

Antique stores abound

Antique stores abound

 

One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston: Poogan's Porch

One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston: Poogan's Porch

 

One of many Charleston graveyards to explore

One of many Charleston graveyards to explore

Sightseeing on a horse-drawn carriage around the city

Sightseeing on a horse-drawn carriage around the city

Read Full Post »