Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 20th, 2009

Interesting sights in Indiana

 While in Lafayette, IN, this past week, I took some time to enjoy local sights and flavors. One evening I had a delicious vegetarian dish at an outdoor table at Bistro 501. Another night I met my friend, Carol Lutz, from Kokomo at McGraw’s on the Wabash River. We enjoyed watching local crew teams practicing on the river. I also went to the downtown Farmer’s Market and picked up fresh organic Indiana peaches and tomatoes. Yum! Then checked out some art stores and galleries. Picked up a great felted purse made out of repurposed wool sweaters from Lisa Walsh at Artists’ Own, a co-op art gallery with works from local artists.

Driving to schools, I passed many cornfields and fields of windmills, too. Visited classrooms and talked with teachers about space, small groups, and stations. Fall is in the air here. But I was back to hot, humid Houston for the weekend.

Crew teams practice on the Wabash River

Crew teams practice on the Wabash River

 

Fields of windmills on the horizon

Fields of windmills on the horizon

Fresh peaches and tomatoes at the Lafayette Farmer's Market

Fresh peaches and tomatoes at the Lafayette Farmer's Market

My new find: a felted purse made from an old sweater

My new find: a felted purse made from an old sweater

Read Full Post »